Baked Salmon with Soy Wasabi Marinade

My friend April made a version of this recipe for a stagette party ages ago and it was so delicious. I don’t cook with fish very often. I’m not sure why, but it just never seems to be on my radar. But this month, I am trying to reduce the grocery bill and use up what’s in the freezer. And in the freezer was a big fillet of salmon caught by my friend Anita’s son; so I pulled it out to defrost and asked April for the recipe.

This was very easy to make and turned out fantastic. I made the marinade before leaving for my running clinic and set the timer for C to preheat the oven and plop the fish in the marinade. When I got home, all I had to do was put it in the oven, cook some rice and steam a bunch of asparagus. Presto! Tasty and healthy meal on the table!

baked_salmon

Baked Salmon with Soy Wasabi Marinade

Adapted from April
Yield: 2 servings

Marinade:
1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce
1 teaspoon packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon fresh ginger, grated
1 teaspoon garlic, minced
1/2 to 1 teaspoon wasabi powder (depending on how much kick you want)

1 large salmon fillet (around 1 to 1 1/2 pounds)

Mix all the ingredients together in a shallow dish or plastic bag. Place the fillet in the dish and let it marinate for around 15 to 30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 400F.

Place the fillet on a foil-lined baking sheet. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until the fish is opaque in the centre. Serve

One Response to Baked Salmon with Soy Wasabi Marinade

  1. [...] Nothing too exciting, just some pre-marinated snapper from Save-On. Definitely not as good as the salmon from last Wednesday! But the broccoli I made to accompany it was delish (both C and I gave it a [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

