Peanut Noodles

This has become my new favourite recipe (from one of my favourite food blogs – must get the book when it comes out!). I have been making it almost once a week since I tried it in late November. I usually cook a big batch and have some for dinner and then take the rest to school for lunches. Delish!

I don’t ever have soba noodles on hand but I do have a big Costco box of whole wheat spaghetti in the pantry, so I just use that and it is still great. Sometimes I also add green onions and/or cilantro when I have them in the fridge. Tonight, I tested out my birthday food processor to thinly slice the carrots and it worked like a charm.

I have reproduced the recipe below, but I strongly suggest you go to Orangette and read the original as the recipes are always accompanied by such lovely stories about how they came to be.

Soba with Peanut-Citrus Sauce

From Orangette.com

For the sauce:
½ cup well-stirred natural peanut butter, such as Adams 100% Natural Creamy
1 ½ tsp. soy sauce
¼ tsp. pressed garlic (about 1 small clove)
½ cup fresh lime juice
½ tsp. sriracha or a similar hot sauce, or more to taste
½ tsp. chili garlic sauce or sambal oelek, or more to taste
2 tsp. olive oil
1 tsp. water

(12 P for all the sauce)

For the noodles:
½ to ¾ lb. soba noodles (see note below)
3 red radishes, very thinly sliced with a knife or mandolin
2 small (or 1 large) carrots, very thinly sliced with a knife or mandolin
1 medium baby bok choy, sliced from tip to root into ¼-inch-thick ribbons
Fresh cilantro or basil leaves, for serving

First, make the sauce. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, and whisk to blend well. It may look clumpy and funny at first, but keep whisking. It will come together into a smooth, light brown sauce. Taste, and adjust to your liking. Set aside.

Meanwhile, put a large pot of water over high heat, and set a colander in the sink. When the water boils, add the soba noodles, and cook at a gently simmer – they’re fragile, so don’t boil them hard – until they are al dente. They cook pretty fast, so be careful. Do not overcook.

Drain the noodles into the colander in the sink. Then, immediately, wash them in cool water. Turn on the faucet and, using your hands, pick up small handfuls of soba and separate them between your fingers, taking care that each noodle is rinsed. “Washing” the noodles like this is a trick we learned from Tea. It helps to remove any starchy residues and keeps the noodles from clumping. (Plus, it’s kind of fun.)

Shake any excess water from the noodles, and turn them into the bowl of sauce. Using two forks, gently toss until the noodles are evenly coated. Add the radishes, carrots, and baby bok choy, and serve, topped with cilantro leaves and additional hot sauce, if you like.

One Response to Peanut Noodles

  1. […] Noodles with Vegetables This is my favourite lunch recipe. I posted it a while back, but in my many batches since, I have tinkered with the recipe and thought it merited a re-post.  […]

Leave a Reply

