Easy Chili

This is a super easy weeknight meal. It was perfect tonight as I put it all on the stove before I went to my running clinic and when I got home, it was ready to eat.

chili

Easy Chili

1 lb. extra lean ground beef
1 large can red kidney beans
1 large can diced tomatoes
1 onion
5 cloves garlic
1 jalapeno pepper
2 red or green peppers
1 1/2 tablespoons chili powder
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
crushed chilies

In pan over medium-high heat, cook beef until it is browned (about 5 minutes). Drain excess fat and put to the side.

In the same pan, saute the onions and garlic for about 5 minutes with a little bit of olive oil. Add the peppers and cook for another few minutes.

Add the spices, beans and tomato sauce. Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer. Cover and simmer for anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour and a half (the longer, the better), stirring occasionally.

(4 P)

One Response to Easy Chili

  1. […] week I need to have something on the go before I head out running. On Monday, I put a big pot of chili on the stove before I went for my run. Tonight, I made Cioppino in the […]

Leave a Reply

