Cioppino

This Saturday I made a big effort to plan out our meals for the week. I went to the Winter Farmer’s Market in the morning and got some fresh fruits and vegetables, followed by a trip to Save-On for the rest of the groceries. With my running clinic twice a week and C’s evening classes on the other nights, if we want to eat together at all during the week I need to have something on the go before I head out running. On Monday, I put a big pot of chili on the stove before I went for my run. Tonight, I made Cioppino in the crockpot.

Cioppino is a tomato-based fish stew. It was concocted by Italian fishermen in San Francisco in the late 1800’s using whatever they brought back on their boats that day. I have wanted to try cooking cioppino for a while, so when I saw this recipe on yumsugar a couple of weeks ago, I decided to finally give it a go. The use of the crockpot in this recipe made it perfect for my make-ahead needs during the week. I was really pleased with how it turned out. I love seafood, so I really liked this and even C, who isn’t a big tomato, seafood, or hot liquid fan, finished all of his (although he did admit that I would probably be eating all the leftovers).

Cioppino

Adapted from yumsugar
Yield: 8 Servings

2 large onions, chopped
8 cloves garlic, finely chopped (about 2 1/2 teaspoons)
1 large can diced tomatoes, undrained
1 can clam nectar
1 can tomato paste
1/2 cup white wine (I used cooking wine)
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 1/2 teaspoons Italian seasoning
1/4 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 bay leaf
1 pound firm-textured white fish, cut into 1-inch pieces
3/4 pound uncooked medium shrimp, peeled, deveined
1 can baby clams with juice, undrained
1 can crabmeat, drained
Parsley, chopped

Mix all ingredients except fish, shrimp, clams, crabmeat and parsley in the crockpot.

Cover. Cook on High for 3 to 4 hours.

Stir in fish, shrimp, clams and crabmeat. Reduce heat to Low. Cover; cook for 30 to 45 minutes longer or until fish flakes easily with fork. Remove bay leaf. Stir in parsley.

Serve with thick crusty bread. (I used Terra Breads Organic Multigrain)

Nutritional Information per serving: Calories 210 (Calories from Fat 35); Total Fat 3 1/2g (Saturated Fat 1/2g, Trans Fat 0g); Cholesterol 120mg; Sodium 570mg; Total Carbohydrate 14g (Dietary Fiber 3g, Sugars 7g); Protein 28g

(4 P)

One Response to Cioppino

  1. […] the original here:  Cioppino | Tags: all-ingredients, can-tomato, cover-cook, crockpot, diced-tomatoes, except-fish, […]

Leave a Reply

