Plain-Old Scones

I woke up this morning and stumbled into the kitchen for my usual breakfast of coffee and cereal only to find an empty box. I am a big fan of relaxed weekend breakfasts, so this just wouldn’t do. I did a quick survey of my pantry and decided to make scones. I have wanted to make Everybody Like Sandwiches‘s Blackberry Scones for awhile, so I brought up the recipe on my laptop. I thought I would use the last of my raspberries from a berry picking expedition this summer, but apparently I already had, so I just made plain old scones. They were delicious – crumbly and golden with just the right amount of sweetness. I ate mine with a pat of butter and some blackberry jam that I picked up at the Farmer’s Market last Saturday. Mmm-mm!

scone4

Plain-Old Scones

Adapted from Everybody Likes Sandwiches
Yield: 8 scones

1/2 cup skim milk
1 egg
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole-wheat flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup butter, cold, cubed
3 tablespoons sugar

Preheat oven to 425F. Whisk the milk and the egg together until frothy and then set aside. In a large bowl, blend the flour, baking powder, and salt. Add the butter and blend the mixture with a pastry cutter. Stir in the sugar. Add the egg mixture slowly, stirring with a wooden spoon until the dough comes together. Leave any remaining egg mixture to brush on as glaze.

On a lightly floured counter, shape the dough into a round about half an inch thick.  Be careful not to overwork the dough. Cut into 8 wedges.

Place on a parchment lined baking sheet. Brush the remaining egg mixure over the wedges. Bake for 10-15 minutes, or until golden. Cool on a wire rack.

(4 P)

Leave a Reply

