Berry Apple Crisp

This crisp is one of my “go-to” recipes. I know it by heart and it can be modified for any combination of fruit. I have made it with just apples, with peaches and raspberries, blackberry and apple…

I usually just make it for myself when I am craving something sweet and comforting but still healthy. I have one (or two) servings right when I make it and then package up the leftovers for breakfast or a snack over the next few days. I have also served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream to dinner guests. It is just plain easy and good.

apple_crisp

Berry Apple Crisp

Yield: 4 servings

Topping:
3/4 cup rolled oats
2 tablespoons slivered almonds
1 1/2  tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons butter or margarine, melted

Filling:
1 tablespoons flour
1 tablespoon brown sugar
3-4 apples, peeled, cored and thinly slices
3-4 cups mixed berries

Preheat the oven to 400F.

In a small bowl,  mix together all the topping ingredients. In a large bowl, combine the fruit with the sugar and flour. Spoon into an 8″ x 8″ baking dish and sprinkle the top with the topping mixture.

Bake until the filling is bubbling and the top is golden brown; about 35 to 40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

