Salmon Tikka with Cucumber Sauce

Yes Please!! That was C’s enthusiastic response when I asked if I should make this dish again. It was fantastic. And devoured by both of us in a matter of minutes. It was also super quick and easy. I whipped up the sauce before I went running, then did the rice and salmon when I got home in under 3o minutes.

Say what you will about Jamie Oliver (I heart him!), but I have yet to cook a recipe of his that hasn’t turned out great. I have his Jamie at Home cookbook and his recipe for roast pork is my go to recipe for impressing company. Now I think I will add Ministry of Food to my wish list.

salmon_tikka

Salmon Tikka with Cucumber Sauce

Adapted from Jamie Oliver’s Ministry of Food
Yield: 2 servings

Cucumber Sauce:
1/2 cucumber
1 red chili
1 lemon
4 tablespoons plain Greek yogurt
salt and pepper (to taste, I like lots of pepper)

Salmon:
2 salmon fillets
1 heaping tablespoon Tandoori Curry Paste (I used Patak’s brand)
1 teaspoon olive oil
1/4 cup cilantro (for garnish)

Cucumber Sauce:
Peel and halve the cucumber lengthwise. Scoop out the seeds using a small spoon. Chop finely and place in bowl.

Halve the chili and remove the seeds by scraping the flesh with the back of your knife. Chop finely and throw in bowl with cucumbers.

Cut the lemon in half and squeeze the juice of one half into the bowl. Add the yogurt and salt and pepper. Stir well and set aside.

Salmon:
Slice the fillets lengthwise down the centre so that you end up with 4 long pieces.

Spoon the tandoori paste into a small dish. Use the back of a spoon to smear one side of the fish.

Heat a frying pan over high heat and add olive oil. (Let the pan get quite hot so that it will sear the salmon and make the paste stick to the fish). Place the fish in the pan, paste-smeared side down. While that side is cooking smear the other side with the rest of the tandoori paste. Cook each side for 1 1/2 minutes.

Serve over rice or naan bread. Top with a large dollop of the cucumber sauce and a sprinkle of cilantro. Yum!

Leave a Reply

