Roast Chicken

You may have noticed that there are no chicken recipes on this blog. I detest chicken. Ever since a trip to Mexico eight years ago where I witnessed gross, gross chicken atrocities that shall not be mentioned, I haven’t touched the stuff. But C was turning 30 and C likes chicken and I am a good girlfriend, so I decided to roast a chicken for his special birthday dinner.

It was an ordeal! Operation chicken began in the morning with a trip to the local organic grocery store. I went to the meat section, found the butcher and explained to him my chicken problem. I couldn’t tell if he thought I was crazy or not but he humoured me. He kindly explained that my chicken was a happy chicken. It ate healthy vegetables and roamed freely around a grassy field. Happy chicken.

The next step was to salt the chicken and let it rest. I put on my apron and thick rubber gloves and proceed to rub. The gloves didn’t work so well and had to be abandoned. I took some very deep breaths and may have uttered several “you can do its” out loud and then shoved my hand into that chicken’s butt. I rubbed it all over with salt and pepper and then had a 10 minute shower to remove all chicken juice from myself. Then I had a drink!

Hours later the chicken went into and came out of the oven. I couldn’t bring myself to carve it, so C handled that chicken task. The only thing left to do was eat it. Hmm….. I took several sips of wine. Then several glugs. Then a took…a…bite…of…chicken. I did it! I ate chicken. And it was ok. I am still here to write this post (but I wouldn’t look for many more chicken recipes here).

So I am probably not the best judge of the deliciousness of this recipe, but C really enjoyed it. In fact, he is still eating the leftovers.

chicken

Roast Chicken

Yield: 1 chicken

1 chicken
sea salt and freshly ground pepper
olive oil
handful fresh rosemary sprigs
handful fresh thyme
1 lemon
bulb garlic
1/2 cup fresh lemon juice

In the morning (if possible), remove the giblets from the chicken and wash inside and out with cold water. Pat dry with paper towel. Rub the chicken inside and out with a generous amount of salt and pepper. Cover and place in the fridge.

Preheat oven to 400F.

Remove chicken from fridge and rub all over with olive oil. Then pour lemon juice over top and inside.

Prick the lemon several times with a fork. Push the lemon, garlic cloves and herbs into the cavity. (Place whatever doesn’t fit around the chicken in the pan).

Put the chicken breast side down in a roasting pan and bake uncovered for 15 minutes. Remove from oven and place breast side up. Cook for another 35 to 45 minutes. (To test if the chicken is fully cooked, place a thermometer into the thigh. If it is 180F, it’s done).

Once done, remove the chicken from the oven and let it rest for at least 5 minutes before carving.

Carve and serve.

chicken-dinner

2 Responses to Roast Chicken

  1. […] So these garlic mashed potatoes seemed like the obvious choice to accompany C’s birthday roast chicken. Plus I knew I could eat them, if not the […]

  2. […] today given our dinner plans. Today is C’s birthday and while I bravely offered to make him a chicken dish of his choice, he instead chose dinner at Swiss Chalet (kindly stating that he preferred to avoid the trauma). As […]

Leave a Reply

