Spicy Hummus

When I first moved to Vancouver after university to find a job and was flat broke, my diet largely consisted of microwave popcorn, cereal and hummus and carrots. In fact, I think I ate just that for several weeks straight! Needless to say, I like hummus. So when I got a food processor for my birthday, I set to work developing a super tasty hummus recipe. It had to have two things: lots of garlic and spiciness. This is the recipe I finally settled on; the garlic and pepper amounts can be easily adjusted to suit your tastes.

Since it is so easy to whip up, this hummus is my go-to appetizer when I haven’t thought of or prepared to bring anything else. Since last September (the dawn of the food processor) it has accompanied me to birthday parties, welcome back parties, housewarming parties, the beach and my couch!

Hummus

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
¼ cup tahini
¼ cup olive oil
5 cloves garlic, peeled
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 tablespoon ground cumin
1 jalapeno pepper
2 to 3 red chilies
¼ cup lemon juice
Water, as needed

Remove the seeds from the jalapeno and red chilies. I like to cut them in half and then use the back of the knife to scrape the seeds away.

Put all ingredients, except the water, in the food processor. No need to chop anything. Blend until smooth. If the mixture is a bit lumpy or dry, add water until it reaches a smooth creamy consistency.

Serve with vegetables (my fave is carrots) and pita. Stores well in the fridge for a week (or two…).

Leave a Reply

