Scottish Shortbread

There is only one treat that I absolutely must have at Christmastime: my mum’s shortbread. Forget rum balls, cookies, and fruitcakes. this shortbread is all I need (albeit, I do need a lot of it!).

My mum has made this for as long as I can remember. She says it tastes just like the kind her grandmother used to make. Every December, she pulls out her cast iron shortbread mold and makes batch after batch to deliver to all her friends and neighbours. And of course a few batches for us.

Last Christmas, I attempted the recipe in my own kitchen. Mum loaned me the mold and I started baking. Then I packaged up my own shortbread to deliver to all my friends. They loved it, just as everyone does. A precedent was set; when this December rolled around they were all waiting for their shortbread and when I delivered it at a party, very little of it actually made it out the door.

So here it is, the most delicious shortbread ever…

Scottish Shortbread

From my mum
Yield: approx 4 rounds

1 pound butter
1 cup sugar
4 cups flour

Place your shortbread mold in the freezer until ready to shape the shortbread. This helps to prevent the dough from sticking.

Preheat the oven to 375F.

Cream the butter until soft.

Add the sugar gradually, blending until very light and creamy.

Add the flour gradually, again blending carefully.

Remove the mold from the freezer and dust it lightly with flour. Press the dough into the mould and turn out onto a baking sheet before baking.

Dust lightly with sugar

Bake at 375 F (190 C) for about 5 minutes, then lower the oven to 300 F (150 C) and continue baking for about 45 – 60 minutes.

Shortbread should be golden but not brown when done.

3 Responses to Scottish Shortbread

  1. Auntie Claire says:

    I do not have this recipe and have always been meaning to ask your Mum for it. As of right now I am on the look out for a shortbread mold. Thanks for sharing this one!

  2. megs says:

    Look for a metal one. I find my mum’s cast iron mold works much better than the ceramic one I have. I have mum on the lookout for one when she is in Scotland this summer.

  3. […] B and her mum host a mother-daughter Christmas cookie exchange. My favourite Christmas cookie is shortbread, but my mum has dibs on that recipe so I had to come up with something new.  I wanted something […]

Leave a Reply

