Granny’s Soda Bread (Repost)

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

In honour of the day, I thought I’d repost my favourite Irish recipe, which I originally posted for St. Patrick’s Day back in 2009: my Granny’s Irish Soda Bread.

As a yeast-less bread, this comes together in less than an hour start to finish. Short of a pint of Guinness (with a bit of Ribena is my fave), this bread slathered with butter is the perfect way to celebrate your Irish roots!

Granny’s Soda Bread

From my Granny (Eileen Way)
Yield: 1 loaf

Ingredients:

2 cups white flour
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup sugar
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 cups buttermilk (I use the 1% buttermilk)

Method:

Preheat oven to 375F.

Mix all of the dry ingredients together. Make a well in the centre, add the buttermilk and stir lightly until everything is combined.

Make into a flat loaf and cut an “X” in the top. Place on a baking sheet and bake for 35 to 40 minutes. (Note: If you are using an electric oven, place a pan of water on the lower rack to provide moist heat during cooking).

Leave a Reply

