Mint Berry Sauce

Last Sunday my friend, Barb, had the brilliant idea of hosting a pancake picnic. I love pancakes and I love picnics and this was the most perfect way to spend a Sunday morning/afternoon. We laid out blankets on her front lawn, drank coffee, ate tons and chatted away.

Barb was whipping up all the pancakes and asked us all to bring a topping. I had some berries in the freezer and mint in the patio garden, so I decided to make a berry sauce and jazz it up with a bit of mint. I made it in about 10 minutes in between rushing home from running and rushing out to make sure I got hot pancakes. (You can tell I was in a bit of a hurry by the steamy photograph – no time for cooling!)

berry_mint_sauce

Mint Berry Sauce

Yield: 2 – 3 cups

4 cups berries, fresh or frozen
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup chopped fresh mint

In a saucepan, bring the berries and sugar to a slow boil. Keep at a gentle boil until the mixture starts to thicken, about 10 minutes.

Stir in the mint and cook for another 2 minutes.

Serve warm (preferable) or cold (nice mixed into yogurt).

Leave a comment